Awesome articles that rewired my brain this week.

Here are few great articles I found to have challenged my thinking &/or, in general, a great read.

Oprah on grateful practice

What had been “the happiest time I’ve ever spent on the planet” had turned into her most miserable failure, and she sank like a stone. “I actually started to think, Maybe I really am depressed. Because it’s more than ‘I feel bad about this.’ I felt like I was behind a veil. I felt like what many people had described over the years on my show, and I could never imagine it. What’s depression? Why don’t you just pick yourself up?” Her depression lasted all of six weeks. She stopped running around to movie theaters where Beloved was showing to buy blocks of tickets to try to get the box office up (true story) and pulled herself together. “That’s when the gratitude practice became really strong for me,” she says, “because it’s hard to remain sad if you’re focused on what you have instead of what you don’t have.”

Fear of missing out

After the catch-up came the letdown—a mixture of regret (I missed it), shame (Why do I care that I missed it?), and anxiety (Wait, what else did I miss?)—and it all felt way too familiar.

We scroll through our Twitter feeds, not seeking anything specific, just monitoring them so we don’t miss out on anything important,”

On how fast you should lift weight

When the goal is to increase muscle size, slow down just enough to focus internally on the muscles you’re targeting. When the goal is strength and power, focus externally on completing the lift as fast as possible without compromising your form.

I am sure as hell glad to know that I have been tying my shoelaces right all along!

Leave a Reply

