Relationship vs Partnership

Relationships are harder now because conversations became texting, arguments become phone calls, feelings became subliminal messages, sex became easy, the word “love” is used out of context & sparingly, insecurities became a way of thinking. Getting jealous became a habit, trust is hard to come by, being hurt became natural and leaving became the only option. Sad but true.

My desires in a relationship have changed over time. I no longer want someone who promises to always love me and never leave me, I  need someone who understands that life happens and sometimes things don’t work out. I don’t want someone who sugarcoats things and never gets angry with me, I need someone to tell me how it really is and put me in my place. I need to be able to go five hours without talking to you and not feel lost or incomplete.

I like being alone. I have control over my own shit. Therefore, in order to win me over, her presence has to feel better than my solitude. She’s not competing with another person, she is competing with my comfort zone.

I am complete without her. But with her, I want to be so much better. I want to be stronger with her. I want us to grow together and help each other grow individually, I don’t need her but I really fucking want her. And this may not work out, but the fact that she understands all of this and this is how it works will make me think we have got a pretty good shot.

But…

I don’t want a relationship, they hold me back. I want a best friend I can sleep with, make love to, hustle with, travel with, shop with, club with, & live with. I want a partner in crime, a life partner. Someone that I can laugh with & build with. Somebody that I can trust with my heart, my money, & my life. Somebody, I am not afraid to lose because I know they will always be there. Relationships just aren’t for me but a partnership? I will take that.

Also, I love the term “partners”

Are we dating?

Are we robbing a bank?

Do we run a legal firm?

Who knows man?

4 thoughts on “Relationship vs Partnership

  1. I love this piece!!! Reminds me of when my (then boyfriend/husband) considered partners in crime. He was my very best friend, and we loved one another’s company.
    Funny, how I look back at my last relationship, even after we had gotten engaged… I knew we were never going to get married. What does that say? Don’t get me wrong, the sex was amazing, but the communications sucked the life out of me. There was none. It was all one sided.
    I’m content with being by myself for now and learning (or relearning) how to be me again. I’m more the peace of mind and working on the blog. I love hanging with my friends and just living my life.
    More power to you. Stick to your gun’s my friend!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. > I don’t need her but I really fucking want her.

    This sounds like the best foundation feeling for a stable relationship, I think. When you can be your own person, yet still contribute to being together. 😀 Good luck, mate! I hope you find that partnership soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

